Make your own free website on
Minnesota Golden Gopher Football

A site dedicated to
the tradition-rich
history and heritage
of Golden Gopher

National Championships:


Where to Go.....

The 1800's:
The 1900's:
The 1910's:
The 1920's:
The 1930's:
The 1940's:
The 1950's:
The 1960's:
The 1970's:
The 1980's:
The 1990's:
The Coaches:
Memorial Stadium:
Gopher Football Bibliography:
Gopher Football Links:
Gopher History Message Board:
About This Page......:

The Minnesota Golden Gophers

The University of Minnesota Golden Gophers have,
for over 100 years, compiled a football history 
and tradition equalled by few schools in the

Six times the Gophers have been crowned National
Champions: 1934, 1935, 1936, 1940, 1941, & 1960.
In fact, the 1934 team is still considered by
many to be one of the best, if not THE best,
college teams ever assembled.

The school has certainly had its share of 
legendary head coaches, such as Dr. Henry Williams,
Bernie Bierman, and Murray Warmath. Greater still
is the number of coaching giants who played their
college ball at Minnesota: Gil Dobie, Bud Wilkinson,
Biggie Munn, and Bud Grant, just to name a few.

In addition, few schools can match Minnesota's
roll call of legendary players: Pug Lund, Ed Widseth,
Herb Joesting, Sonny Franck, Bruce Smith, Leo
Nomellini, Clayton Tonnemaker, Paul Giel, Sandy
Stephens, Tom Brown, Bobby Bell, Carl Eller, and
of course, Bronko Nagurski.

This page serves as a tribute to all of those
through the ages who have helped make the Minnesota
Golden Gophers one of college football's most
storied programs.

This page is in no way affiliated with the University
of Minnesota nor its football program.